MARC B. NATHANSOn                                                                                                                 Founding Chairman Emeritus, HSAC | Chairman, Mapleton Investments


Marc B. Nathanson is a long-time communications executive.

Marc is Chairman of Mapleton Investments, a Los Angeles-based investment vehicle, and Chairman and majority shareholder of Falcon Waterfree Technologies, world leader in water conservation in bathrooms.

Marc is a Cable TV industry pioneer, founded Falcon Cable TV in 1975 and sold it in 1999 to Paul Allen’s Charter Communications.

Marc went into government service when President Bill Clinton appointed him to the newly formed Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG) in 1995 and became its first Chairman as an independent Federal agency in 1998. The BBG is the successor agency to the United States Information Agency and is responsible for all United States non-military communications including: the Voice of America, Radio Free Europe/Liberty, Radio Free Asia and Radio-TV Marti. He ran this Federal agency for six years under President Clinton, and eighteen months under President Bush, until his successor was confirmed by the United States Senate. In 1997, President Clinton also appointed him to the Albanian-American Enterprise Fund.

He is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and Vice Chair of the National Democratic Institute (NDI). Marc is a member of the Board and the Executive Committee of the Pacific Council on International Policy and the Aspen Institute. He was appointed by Secretary of State Hillary Clinton as her representative to the Board of Trustees to the East-West Center in Honolulu, Hawaii in 2012. He is a member of the United States Institute of Peace International Advisory Council.

He is the founder and Chairman Emeritus of the Los Angeles Homeland Security Advisory Council (HSAC) and a member of the Homeland Security Strategy Group of the Aspen Institute.

Marc is a noted environmentalist and was honored by Global Green in 2009 with their “Millennium Award” for his contribution to improving the environment, as well as the 2011 Environmental Media Association (EMA) Board of Directors “Lifetime Achievement Award” for his work in saving the planet.